Wednesday, September 26, 2012

What is ISO?

The International Organization for Standardization (ISO) is the world’s developer of International Standards. They have over 19,000 International Standards covering almost all aspects of technology and business; including food safety, computers, agriculture, healthcare, plus many more all of which affect a certain aspect of our lives.

New ISO 22301 standards
ISO just recently released its latest international business continuity standard - ISO 22301 which has replaced the older British standard: BS25999-2. In the ISO standards, there are two sections that are covered; Auditing and Implementing. Both of which have been released inline with 22301 courses. Click on the cert you want to find out more:

Why get an ISO 22301 certification?
Gaining either of these certs will validate that you have the skills and knowledge needed to audit or implement a Business Continuity Management System (BCMS) based on the new ISO 22301 certification.

You will learn the necessary to implement or complete an audit. These are some of the areas covered in the ISO courses:
    ISO Logo
  • Mastering audit and implementation techniques
  • Managing audit teams and programmes
  • Communicating with customers
  • Conflict resolution
  • Business continuity management specification
  • Guidelines for information and communication technology readiness for business continuity shows that the average salary for an ISO professional in the UK is £50,000.