Wednesday, September 26, 2012

What is a TOGAF certification?

TOGAF LogoThe Open Group Architecture Framework (TOGAF) is a framework and a set of tools designed for enterprise architecture. 

TOGAF puts EA (Enterprise Architecture) into four key sections:
  • Business Architecture 
  • Applications Architecture
  • Infrastructure Architecture
  • Data Architecture
TOGAF, as seen in the video below, is about getting the right information to the right people, in the right place, at the right time and in the right format.

How do I get a TOGAF certification?
To receive your TOGAF certification, two levels (exams) will need to be successfully passed following the TOGAF training course:
  • Level 1: TOGAF 9 Foundation
  • Level 2: TOGAF 9 Certified

TOGAF employment possibilities?
There is currently a very strong level of interest in EA so having a TOGAF certification can get you ahead of the game. In addition to this, there are many possibilities for employment, as working directly for organisations (such as banks, retailers, government agencies) is not the only option. As a TOGAF professional you could work in an EA consultancy. This is because many organisations have their own architecture consultancies. This includes HP, IBM and Cap Gemini which are currently recruiting. shows that certified TOGAF professionals in London earn in average £75,000 and salaries can go as high as £90,000 in certain areas in the UK.

Earn your TOGAF certification in just three days with Firebrand training - click here to find out more: